This Dessert Was Just Peachy

I have a sweet tooth. It’s the bane of my existence, it’s my vice. Though I try my best to keep my sweet-treat cravings at bay, there are times where I just have to give in.

After all, I’m only human. OK – I’ve done enough self-reassurance.

Let’s get to the point of this blog.

Grilled peaches and frozen yogurt. Kris and I decided that we’d go a little Food Network in the kitchen and take our culinary efforts up a level. AKA we decided to make our dessert rather than buy our dessert.

Here’s how it went down.

First and foremost, we picked up two juicy peaches.

From there, I cut both right down the middle. I simply took the knife and rotated the peach in a circle around the core, much like you do with an avocado.

Once I made the cut around the peach, I simply twisted and the two pieces came apart. I took the core out and did the exact same thing to the second peach.

Now that the peaches were halved, I took about a half of a teaspoon of Smart Balanace “butter” and lightly coated the inside part of each peach. The reason for this is to ensure that once the peach was on the hot griddle it wouldn’t stick or burn.

Before I placed the peaches on the grill, I made a quick mixture on the side. This mixture consisted of cinnamon and brown sugar. I don’t have exact measurements so just add as much as you’d like. You don’t need much, just enough to coat the peaches.

After all four pieces were lightly-buttered it was time to grill on a medium heat. I placed the peaches face down for about 2-3 minutes. Be sure to keep an eye on them; you don’t want them to burn.

While the peaches are face down, lightly-butter the top of the peach with more Smart Balance. Once you’ve done that, it’s time to flip the peaches over again. They only have to be on the grill for about 2-3 minutes or until they feel tender.

Now, the inside of the peach should be upward facing. Next is where the magic happens.

Take that lovely, sweet mixture that you created and sprinkle it on the tops of each peach. Add as much or as little as you’d like. When the mixture hits the warm peach, it essentially crystallizes into a piece of heaven.

Grab your tongs and put two halves into a bowl.

Kris and I bought a small carton of the Oikos Frozen Yogurt and put that right on top of the warm peach.

It was pretty much heaven.  Here’s the picture to prove it. I must say, this was a pretty guilt-free dessert that was full of flavor!

Grilled Peaches

Leave a Reply

