How to Work from Home and Still Be Productive

Learn how to be productive while working from home with these three tips.

I have to admit that I’m pretty lucky in the respect that my 9-5 offers a great deal of flexibility.

This flexibility includes the option to work-from-home if needed. To me, this is one of the best features of my job. I mean doesn’t waking up in the morning, opening my laptop with a cup of coffee in hand and getting to work, all the while still in my PJ’s sound great?

To me, it’s heavenly, for others – not so much. I’ve heard some people say that they just can’t seem to concentrate while at home. Whether it’s the TV, kids, or just the mere fact that your bed is only a room or so away, some think working-from-home is actually counterproductive.

For the sake of this blog, we’re going to refer to working-from-home as WFH.

Three productivity tips when working from home

So for those in the latter camp, I’m going to offer you three tips that will help you become a firm believer that WFH can actually productive.

Find your balance

When it comes to WFH, you want to find your balance. By this I mean you’ll have to find somewhere in your house where you’re comfortable but not too comfortable. For me, sitting on my bed with my laptop wouldn’t work out because I’d be catching Z’s before I even opened my first email. That’s why I’ve found that my kitchen table is the best place for me to get my work done. Not only does it replicate my work surface at home but I also have a TV that I turn on in the background for some ambiance. Because let’s be honest, when I’m home I never like to miss an episode of Today with Kathie Lee and Hoda! So, whether you have the luxury of having an actual office in your house or a place where you have a flat surface to set up shop, find an area in your house where you’ll be more apt to get work done.

Make a to-do list

I personally live and die by my to-do list. The first thing I do in the morning is write out the most important tasks that need to be completed before I leave for the day. When I WFH, it’s no different; I sit down and write out what needs to be accomplished. This will help keep you honest and motivated to scratch those items right off your list. I mean is there a better feeling than drawing a line through a task on your to-do list? To me, it’s one of the most validating experiences. Maybe I need to get out more but, when your days are busy, powering through your assignments like a one-man wrecking crew makes you feel like Superman or Wonder Woman.

Treat it like a normal day

Unless you have to WFH because of a doctor’s appointment or any other commitments, you should generally keep your day at home like a day at work. Get up at the same time, brew the pot of coffee at the same time and try your best to keep your day normal. Staying in a routine (although in a different environment) can help you stay focused to complete your daily goals.

Just because you’re at home doesn’t mean that your productivity should lessen. In fact, since you’re at home it should even increase. Why? Because I’m a firm believer that when you’re comfortable and at ease in a familiar place, your creativity takes off and you are able to freely work on things without your boss hovering over your shoulder.

Leave a Reply

