3 Ways to Break Through Writer’s Block

Writing can be tough.


Let’s face it, we’ve all run face first, full force into a brick wall. No, not a literal brick wall. The brick wall that sometimes appears in your brain and stifles and form of creativity.
What I’m explaining is writer’s block. The worst thing any writer can experience.
So, to overcome my own dose of writer’s block I decided to dig deep and figure out some ways to break through that wall and never look back.

writer's block

Give me a break – No, this isn’t the beginning of a Kit Kat commercial. I’m encouraging you to give yourself a break. That’s exactly what I did before I wrote this blog. I took my time and stepped away from the iPhone and gave myself a mental break. When you force yourself to do something, you’re either going to quit early or begrudgingly do your work and lose your passion. Sometimes forcing yourself to overwork yourself can be counterintuitive. So, take a break, read a book, watch your favorite TV show or just do something that you love! Sometimes letting your brain relax unleashes that creativity that’s just waiting to be seen.
Slow and steady – Writer’s block sucks and when you’re in the midst of this mental block sometimes you just have to take it slow. One way to do so is just write whatever pops into your mind. It could be a word or even a phrase , whatever it is, write it down! One thing that I do is keep a notebook by my bed for whenever a random thought pops into my mind as I doze off to sleep. Keep that running book of thoughts close and use it as inspiration. By forcing yourself to write, whatever it may be, you’ll slowly but surely get back in the groove.
Get inspired – You’re a writer so obviously you’re a creative person. But the devil that is writer’s block holds your creativity hostage and its up to you to relinquish that creativity without anyone getting hurt. Try something different, maybe you can try your hand at drawing or painting or even a DIY project. Just do something that makes you happy. Who knows, maybe that little project could provide the spark that you’ve been looking for!

So, the next time you’re faced with writer’s block, don’t roll up into a ball and rock back and forth in the corner of your room. Instead, face it head first and just keep writing (did anyone else read that in Dory’s voice from Finding Nemo?)

Get out those sledgehammers people and start breaking through writer’s block with these three tips!

How do you break through writer’s block? Leave me a comment, I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

