Blizzard 2016 Eats: Baked Pretzel Bites

This isn’t pretzel logic.

 

Attention all pretzel lovers I have the easiest recipe that you’re going to love.
During the Blizzard of 2016 I had the chance to do some experimenting in the kitchen and as the self-proclaimed snicker extraordinaire that I am I combined my love of soft pretzels with my love of snacks.

That product of that combo is my baked pretzel bites.
The recipe couldn’t be simpler so I’m here to share it with you in all its glory.

For starters, as most of my recipes go I used a Trader Joe’s product. For this recipe it was their Soft Pretzel Stick.

Now, I’m new to this whole blogging thing so I didn’t take a perfect picture of the pretzel stick in its bag. It’s shocking, I know! You’re probably thinking, “Maria, you’re so hard on yourself! That’s such a high-quality image of a plastic bag!”  But, I feel I owe it to you to let you know that when I took this picture,  I had already cut the pretzels and realized, “OH, maybe I should have taken a picture of that!”

Anyways.

The first step is to preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Next grab a cookie sheet and spray it with non-stick spray. Now that the busy work is done its on to the prep work we go!

All I did was cut the pretzel stick into about a half inch slices.

Next, I took those slices and scattered them on my greased cookie sheet.

From there I gave the pretzel bites a little spritz of spray butter. Because, what’s better than a buttery and delicious bite of pretzel?
Anyways, since I was in total experimental mode I flipped my Emeril switch and BAM! I threw some shredded low-fat cheese on a couple lucky bites.

After all the pretzel bites were either cheesed or buttered off they went into their warm nesting place – AKA the oven for about 20 minutes.

You’ll know they’re done when they’re light brown in color or the cheese has started to melt.
For me, I pulled these bad boys out of the oven when they were light brown in color.
  

And here’s what I came away with!

I paired these pretzel bites with Harry & David’s honey mustard and it was a match made in snack heaven.


Oh and of course, Trader Joe’s cheese made a cameo appearance.
  
This was such an easy recipe and gave me the idea for a possible pretzel bruschetta of sorts for the future!

Leave a Reply

