What is Happiness?

Happiness. It seems like a simple concept but for some it’s not something that’s easy to grasp.

The idea of happiness can be defined in a myriad of ways. From that feeling that you get when you take your first sip of coffee in the morning, to sending out that last email of the day. Happiness is completely and utterly subjective.

But, in today’s society we see more and more of the objectification of happiness. Now, in some cases, happiness is defined as a new watch, a brand-new car or the latest piece of technology.

Now more than ever we find ourselves losing sight of true happiness because that same happiness is hidden behind an Instagram filter of a perfectly positioned plate of scones or through a #humblebrag post that makes you want to vomit.

As a millennial I think I have the right to say that we’ve lost focus on what is important in life.

I know I’m guilty of being attached to my phone and knocking on the doors of celebs’ Instagram feeds to get a glimpse at how the other side lives.

Too often, I’ve found myself looking at a picture and thinking, “Wow, wouldn’t it be nice to be so rich you never have to worry about money.”

happiness blog

Sure, money makes life easier to an extent. If I had more money, I wouldn’t have to worry about school loans or bills in general. They would pay themselves without me even having to give it a second thought.

But, that’s simply not the case for me and I’m OK with that.

I think as a generation, we’ve lost our ability to find our own happiness and instead focus on society’s happiness.

If you go against the grain you’re either weird or “trying too hard.”

It kind of blows my mind how judgmental we are as humans. If a person truly is themselves and it doesn’t fit into the mold that society has created they get a label that’s negative, a label that’s slapped right on to their forehead and they are crucified for living out their version of happiness.

I’m not an angel by any means; I have a tendency to think negatively of people and to cast my own presumptions before I’ve even talked to someone. I’m sorry but I’m human however, as I get older (wow, I sound like I need an AARP card) I realized that it’s important that I do things that I want to do, not what society wants me to do.

For instance, for years and years I dreamed of having my own blog but because others might have thought it was lame, I let others viewpoints cloud my own vision of happiness.

Finally, one day I decided to just sack up and do it. After all, what did I have to lose? The answer to that was not much because I had so much more to gain.

For months now, I’ve been focusing on my passion of writing and writing about things that I care about. Albeit my blog is completely random and there’s really no rhyme or reason as to why I write about what I do but that’s not the point. The point is that I’m doing something that I love!

We’re all given one life to live and it’s up to us to either let society dictate what we do with the years on this earth or we take it upon ourselves to jump on the path that leads us to our own happiness as we chase after our dreams and live a life that’s fulfilling.

Happiness is a journey and I firmly believe when you find that road, perhaps a road less traveled you too can seek happiness with each passing day.

So I want to ask you, in your own words, “What is happiness?” Leave a comment with your answer; I’d love to read them!

Leave a Reply

