Fish Taco Friday

Lent is here and with that means no-meat Friday’s!

I’m a practicing Catholic so since the day I came out of my mother’s womb I followed Lenten rules.

One of which is no meat on Friday’s. For me that’s no issue, I love fish and sometimes look forward to these Friday’s

This Friday was no exception. Why? Because I made fish tacos with an avocado cream and a Mexican quinoa on the side.

Let’s not swim around the point anymore. Let’s get right to it!

Up at the plate right now is my Mexican quinoa.

I took to Pinterest and couldn’t find anything so I went right to my memory bank and came up with my own recipe.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/4 c dry quinoa – follow the instructions on the box
  • 1 can black beans (rinsed)
  • 1 c Trader Joe’s frozen corn
  • Chili powder

Here’s what you’ll do:

Throw the corn in a skillet with non-stick spray. Throw on some chili powder (eyeball it).


Once you’re corn is cooked, take it off the burner and put it on the side.

Next, open up that can of black beans and rinse it. For this recipe I took out about 1/2 c of the beans for the recipe.

Next, take the corn, black beans and quinoa and throw it in a bowl! Add some black pepper, chili powder and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. Cover and put it to the side. We’ll dish it up when the tacos are complete.


It’s time for the avocado cream.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 8 oz. plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 lime

Here’s what you’ll do:

Add the yogurt and avocado in a dish and juice the lime into the mixture. I used a potato masher (it did the trick). Mash until there are no lumps in the mixture.

Side note: If I could redo this recipe, I’d add some chili powder or red pepper flakes for a nice kick!

Next, we move onto the main event – the fish. I cook the fish last because it doesn’t take long.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 packaged frozen cod – I used Trader Joe’s brand (duh.)
  • 1 lemon
  • Dry parsley
  • Garlic salt
  • Black pepper
  • Shredded lettuce (to top off the tacos)

Here’s what you’ll do:

Coat a skillet with non-stick spray. Add the fish and squeeze an entire lemon (watch out for seeds). Sprinkle with parsley flakes, garlic salt and black pepper. Cook for about seven minutes on one side. Flip and repeat on the other side. Cut into the thickest part of the fish. If it’s white – you’re set. If it’s clear – keep cooking.

Once the fish is cooked – it’s go time.

To assemble the tacos I used Trader Joe’s whole-wheat (reduced fat) tortillas – 45 calories a wrap.

Two for me. Two for my fiance.

I broke the pieces of fish into smaller chunks and distributed them among the four wraps. Added some shredded lettuce to each and finished the tacos with about two tablespoons each the avocado cream. Serve the Mexican quinoa on the side.

Feast your eyes on this fish taco finisher. 

Just because it’s Lent doesn’t mean that you have to abstain from flavor. Give these healthy fish tacos a try and check back next week for this Friday’s meal.

In the meantime, Lents eat!

One thought on “Fish Taco Friday

  1. Pingback: Flatout Goat Cheese and Veggie Pizza – Ri's Company

Leave a Reply

