How to Stay Motivated

Motivation for some can be fleeting.


Have you ever woken up in the morning, felt like you could take on the world only to have something as small as an email completely kill your morale and stop your motivation train dead in its tracks?

If you know what I’m talking about, you know that those moments are motivation killers. They suck the life out of you and put your motivation on the back burner. Today, I’m showing you how keep your motivation as a top priority.

We all have goals and we owe it to ourselves to chase after those goals relentlessly. Stay motivated with these three simple tips.

Keep your eye on the prize

Roadblocks are a given in life. If life were one straight, smooth path, it would be a boring place where people wouldn’t have to think outside of the box, come up with solutions to problems, come together and brainstorm ideas on how to tackle a project – life would be stale. Roadblocks, in some cases are welcomed frictions because it forces us to use our creativity and to put on our thinking cap to overcome the issue at hand. To this point, it’s imperative that you always keep your eye on the prize and never let a bump in the road completely flip your cart. Knowing and accepting adversity is one way to stay motivated and when you reach your goals, you can look back and be proud at all you had to overcome to get you where you are today!

Make priorities

Recently, in addition to my to-do list that I still create every morning for my own sanity I’ve written down three big things that I wanted to tackle or work on that day. These are my priorities. They’re bigger than the to-do list and hold a lot more pressure to get done. Now, these priorities aren’t meant to stare you down every day so you begin to stress out. Rather, these priorities are meant to keep you motivated and moving forward towards your goals. Because when you put a line through one or all of those, that’s a feeling of accomplishment you want to feel. Each time a priority is completed, reevaluate your needs and add another. Progress is sweet.

Enjoy the process

So, I started this blog thinking I would have overnight success. Well, that hasn’t been the case. Sure, I could let that discourage me and pack it in and never log on to WordPress again. But, by doing that, I’d only be doing myself a disservice. Why? Because I enjoy writing, it’s cathartic. It lets me put my opinion on things that are far bigger than me. Writing is my passion. So, if you’re starting to lose motivation on a project, whether for work, school, your fitness level, whatever it may be, take a step back, a deep breath and bring yourself back to the excitement you had when you started. There’s a reason you started, now find that reason and finish!

How do you stay motivated? Leave me a comment below. I’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “How to Stay Motivated

Leave a Reply

