How to Get Ready for Your Next Trip

Spring has sprung and travel season is on the horizon. No matter the trip, it’s always important to have a check list. Keep reading today’s blog to help you prepare for your next vacation.

Personally, I view travel as a luxury, no matter how small the trip is. The excitement of getting to the airport, even though security can be less than fun and the anticipation of your plane pulling up to your gate is exciting. Knowing that the plane that’s attached to the tarmac is about to take you to your destination in a matter of hours is mystifying and exhilarating at the same time.

But, before any of this can happen, you have to get ready for your trip. In t-24 hours I’ll be getting on a plane and heading to Clearwater Beach, Florida to celebrate the Easter holiday.

The weather’s looking amazing (80 degree weather-amazing) and I have to admit that I’m a self-proclaimed over-packer who ends up packing all of the wrong things. I bet there are some people reading this who can agree.

Anyways, in preparation for this trip I went through a mental checklist of what I’ll need while I’m away. Also, as a side note, I’m talking to the girls reading this when I say that you can pack exactly what you want to wear and when it comes time to pull out your outfit, it doesn’t fit as well (thanks, bloating). That’s why when I pack, I like to bring some back up options as well.

But, let’s get back to what’s important. Here’s my checklist that I’ve created for packing purposes.

  1. First and foremost, check TSA’s rules and regulations. In this day and age, there’s no excuse to not know the do’s and don’ts of packing.
  2. To this point, the liquid part is tough. After all, being a girl, if you don’t check a bag and only take a carry-on you really have to abide by the 3-1-1 rule which means that the liquids you take with you on the plane have to be 3.4 ounces or less. So, if you have containers of liquids that are larger than that amount, it’s time to head to your local drugstore and get containers that are meant for travel purposes. Simply transfer what you need from the main container into your travel containers and place them all in a quart-sized Ziploc bag. Make sure the caps of your containers are on tightly, there’s nothing worse than opening your bag to a sopping mess of hairspray on your favorite shirt.

Now that you’re good to go with at least one TSA rule, it’s time to think about the main event – clothing. Sit down and think of what you’ll need. For this trip I went through each day and thought about the events that we have planned. For instance, here’s a sample of my first day in Florida:

  1. Wake up and workout – Workout clothes – shirt, shorts, sports bra, socks and running shoes.
  2. Run to the grocery store for Easter dinner supplies – sandals, shorts and a shirt (purse).
  3. BEACH – cover up, flip flops, bathing suit, sunglasses and a beach bag (suntan lotion, magazines).
  4. Dinner – Sundress, sandals (straightener for hair and make-up)
  5. Bed – PJs (make-up remover)

As you can see, I went through the entirety of the day and thought about exactly what I’d be doing and what I’d need for that day down to the accessories.

Just repeat that process per day that you’ll be away. By simulating what you’ll need for each day and laying out the outfits, this will help you see what you need and eliminate the possibility of forgetting anything.

Now for your personal bag, make sure that you have everything that you’ll need readily available. This includes your boarding pass, photo ID, a second form of ID, chargers, laptop/iPad (both), headphones, snacks, reading material, etc.

For me, my next trip isn’t terribly long, so I try and pack smart. With that being said, I make sure that my airport outfit includes my heaviest clothes and shoes. For instance, if I want to have my Nike’s for a trip, I’ll be sure to wear them to the airport and if I wanted to bring my jean jacket, I’ll be sure to wear that as well on the plane. These two items are cumbersome and will take up a lot of room in my carry-on so, by wearing them I’ve cut down on packing space and still have those items to wear on my trip!

I hope that these packing tips although short and sweet will help you as you prepare for your next trip. Excuse me while I indulge my OCD tendencies by checking and double-checking the items I’ve already packed!

Follow on me on Twitter and Instagram (@RisCompany) for updates from my trip! 🙂

Do you have any good packing tips? I’d love to hear them. Leave me a comment!

 

Leave a Reply

