Here’s How to Stay Accountable

Accountability (noun): the fact or condition of being accountable; responsibility.

In case you haven’t picked up on a theme yet today’s blog is all about accountability.

Last week, I published a blog, “Stop Waiting. Start Transforming.” In this blog, I talked about how important it is to finally take the reins of your life and start the journey to transform your life.

Part of this transformation is exercise – cue the collective sigh. I don’t know why, but when it comes to transforming your body and your life so many people roll their eyes at the thought of having to exercise multiple times during the week.

I have to admit, there are days that I don’t want to but then I think how fortunate I am to be able to work out and that I have a body that allows me to carry out these exercises. It’s this little dose of reality that gets my butt into motion and on to the exercise of the day.

For me, I work out at home. Whether it’s a treadmill run or a fitness video (21 Day Fix Extreme, Max 30 or T25) all that I have to do is get into my work out gear and head into the basement. This makes it easier for me to not skip a work out.

In year’s past, I was a gym rat. But, as I got older and life got a little busier, driving to the gym, working out and then driving home became too much of a burden and I was more inclined to skip my daily workout because I just simply didn’t have the time.

I adjusted. I canceled my gym membership and decided to work out at home.

Now, for some people, working out at home leaves them open to skipping a workout because why leave the couch?

Well, this is the perfect shift into today’s topic – accountability.

Part of your transformation journey is all about holding yourself accountable for a myriad of things -Buying healthy groceries, drinking adequate amounts of water, getting enough sleep and of course working out.

For some reason, working out always seems to be the first item to get pushed to the back burner. Sometimes we’re tired, sometimes we’re busy, sometimes we don’t feel up to it. Whatever the excuse may be, there’s always time for 25 – 30 minute workout.

We all have the same 24 hours in the day and there are people who working grueling shifts, hold down a household, take care of kids and still find the time to squeeze in working out to their schedule.

It takes accountability and determination to find time each day to break a sweat and get moving.

In my case, one of the best ways to fit working out into my schedule and to make sure that I don’t skip out because “I don’t feel like it,” I plug in my week’s workouts into my phone’s calendar.

Work out accountability
April 7, 2016 is World Health Day and it’s also the day I do Speed 3.0. Scheduling your workouts holds you accountable to complete them each day.
It’s in black and white; I have an allotted time in my day to spend working on myself. No phone, no email, just me and my work out.

Transforming your life takes organization and planning. So, as the popular saying goes, “Fail to plan. Plan to fail.” Sit down for 15 minutes and map out your fitness journey for the week. For one, it takes the thinking out of the equation. You just pull up your calendar and see what work out is on the menu for that day. Secondly, getting into the habit of plugging your daily workouts into your calendar and treating it like a meeting, an engagement you can’t miss will help you be accountable and more apt to actually lace up and get after it.

How do you hold yourself accountable when it comes to working out? Let me know in the comments section!

One thought on “Here’s How to Stay Accountable

  1. Pingback: 5 Reasons You Should Find a Workout Buddy – Ri's Company

Leave a Reply

