Flatout Goat Cheese and Veggie Pizza

I’m Italian so it’s no shock that I love pizza and any type of pizza for that matter. The way I see it, the crazier the combination the better however, this definitely doesn’t include anchovies – keep those suckers in the sea where they belong.

But my relationship with pizza is almost like a forbidden love affair – cheesy analogy I know (OK, I’m seriously done.)

To be honest though I’m the type of person that could polish off a medium pizza in one sitting and then some. However, there’s these things called calories that stop me from doing so. In my version of a perfect world, I could do this with no remorse but, this just isn’t the case.

My main goal in life is to consistently fuel my body with foods that are chock-full of nutrients and that will give me the energy to push through my workouts and through my daily activities, too.

Pizza, unfortunately, doesn’t make the cut for being the healthiest option.

Rather than put my love of pizza on the back burner, I’ve found other ways to enjoy this food that seems to have be sent down to Earth from Heaven.

On my quest to keep pizza in my life, I discovered the Flatout brand a few years ago and I haven’t looked back since. This product is fabulous and no, I’m not being paid to say this.

But really, they’re low in calories, high in fiber and protein and aren’t paper thin like other low-calorie bread varieties. They actually have sustenance.

So, when I found some recipes on their packaging for pizza I decided to up the ante and make my own variation for my fiancé and myself.

I originally made this recipe for a Lenten Friday (Check out my blog for my scrumptious fish tacos) but shredded grilled or rotisserie chicken can definitely be added to this recipe, too.

For this particular pizza, don’t think that the ingredients are etched in stone. If you don’t like something, swap it out for an ingredient you do like! Recipes are a general guideline not the end-all-be-all!

FullSizeRender (2)

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup sliced red onion (I cut mine into thin strips)
  • 2 garlic cloves (mince the garlic)
  • 3 – 4 cups spinach (Eyeball it because spinach cooks down a lot and fast!)
  • ¼ cup roasted red peppers (Drain and slice)
  • 1 medium tomato (Chop the tomato into bite-sized pieces and make sure to remove all seeds to avoid making your pizza a soggy mess)
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 oz. crumbled goat cheese
  • 2 oz. fresh buffalo mozzarella (Cut into slices – you decide how thick or thin you’d like to make the slices)
  • 1 c Mid’s Homestyle Pasta Sauce
  • Flatout flatbreads (I used two for this recipe)
  • Balsamic Glaze

Here’s what you’ll do:

Make sure to preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. While your oven is preheating, in a skillet, sauté your onions and garlic in oil – once tender, add your tomatoes and spinach. Cook for about 3 to 5 minutes. Once cooked, remove from heat and set aside.

After you’ve preheated your oven, grab a cookie sheet and coat with non-stick spray. Place flatbreads onto the sheet and place in the oven for 3 to 4 minutes or until crispy.

Remove from oven and add half of the following ingredients to each of the flatbreads:

  • Tomato sauce
  • Buffalo mozzarella
  • Roasted red peppers
  • Spinach and tomato mixture

Once these ingredients have been added, send it back into the oven for another 3 to 4 minutes.

Remove from oven when cheese begins to melt. After you’ve removed the flatbreads from the oven, sprinkle with goat cheese and drizzle.

Finally, the best part of any recipe, enjoy!

flatout pizza

If you’re a pizza lover, how do you still get your fix without derailing your diet? Leave me a comment below, I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

