Cinco de Mayo: Homemade Tortilla Chips

It’s the 5th of May. It’s May 5th. It’s CINCO DE MAYO! The day where eating barbaric amounts of tortilla chips, queso, and tacos is PERFECTLY ACCEPTABLE. That is, if you don’t care about your diet. In my case, I care, so I lightened up my tortilla chip recipe.

Check it out!

Today’s blog is all about the chips. Tortilla chips are perhaps the best accompaniment to chili. But, store bought chips are packed with calories and empty carbohydrates. So, I decided to take a stab at making my own.

I opted for the latter and i’m glad I did. This recipe is easy and full of flavor.

Let’s cut to the chase so I can snow you, opps – I mean show you how I made this crispy, crunchy creation!

First and foremost, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Next, we move on to the star of this recipe which was Trader Joe’s Whole Grain Flour Tortillas. I go to Trader Joe’s for pretty much everything and these tortillas were perfect for my creation. They were thick enough so that they could withstand the spicing-up (is that even a word?) of these chips.

From there, I removed the tortillas from the package and cut them in the middle both vertically and horizontally and then made another cut to create the triangular shapes you see below.

I prepared two baking sheets and sprayed them both with non-stick cooking spray. I then evenly laid the tortillas on each of the two sheets and sprayed them generously with more non-stick cooking spray.

I then began the spice process. I eyeballed all of these ingredients so don’t expect exact measurements.  I used the following:

  • Ranch seasoning
  • A pinch of sea salt
  • Chili powder



I sprinkled these ingredients generously all over the tortillas on the baking sheets. As you’ll see in the pictures, there’s no method to my madness.


Once the tortillas were covered, off they went into the oven for about 15- 17 minutes or until crispy.

After about seven or so minutes, I opened up the oven and flipped the tortillas so that they would evenly crisp.

After about 15 minutes, the chips were ready and voila – The perfect tortilla chip was created. There was a nice, spicy bite from the chili powder and a cooling flavor from the ranch seasoning.

These chips proved to be the perfect arm candy for my Skinnytaste’s Crockpot Turkey Chili. I mean just look at it – It’s beautiful, isn’t it?

Pair that with Skinnytaste’s Crockpot Turkey Chili and you’ve got yourself a match made in heaven.

If you try my tortilla chips recipe, let me know what you think and leave a comment! I look forward to hearing from you!

Happy Cinco de Mayo everyone!

Leave a Reply

