Consistently Inconsistent

At the beginning of 2016, I set a goal for myself to start a blog and to continually come up with posts relating to food, fitness and business. The three main things that I really enjoy writing about.

Well, it started off well and good. I was motivated. I was excited to see that WordPress ticker in the top left-hand corner tell me how many people had come to my website.

Granted, my stats would be laughable to big-time bloggers but to me, it was exciting and I felt a sense of accomplishment.

I created a Twitter and Instagram account to bolster and promote my efforts and after toying with the idea I started a Facebook page, too. Still not one single like, but at least I did it.

I was doing everything right. Adding posts weekly sometimes two times a week, steadily updating my profiles. I was getting the hang of it.

Well, this little thing called reality swooped in and derailed my efforts.

Projects at my full time job ramped up, responsibilities with my freelance opportunities began to pick up and my time started to decrease.

I know full well these aren’t problems per say. If anything, I am extremely lucky to have this conflict because I have a job and a nice little freelance gig on the side.

But, I know in any profession practice makes perfect and I wanted my blog to be that sandbox where I can test new ideas, write in a way that’s exciting and just put my best foot and opinions forward to see if they stick.

As my time became more constricted my ability to write for my blog/ my motivation levels after a long day of work began to dwindle as well.

I was starting to form the habit of putting my blog on the back burner.

In no time at all, I was becoming consistently inconsistent with my writing.

I was getting lazy. Posting just to post. Not really taking the time or effort to research anything. It was haphazard and I was evolving into a writer I didn’t want to become.

I’m realizing this now and holding myself accountable. In all things in life, you have to make time for the activities that you love. Life isn’t all about work. Life is about balance. So, as I sit here on the couch watching TV unwinding after another full week of work and responsibility, I can’t help but think that sometimes you have to roll with the punches and work with what you’ve got!

So, here’s to putting my blog back on the front burner and making time for things that I love — writing.

Leave a Reply

