My Review of Xo, G Wine

Who knew you could portion control (or at least try to) your wine consumption?

This weekend, I was perusing the aisles at the state store – well let me stop here. I’m from Pennsylvania and in Pennsylvania we have some absolutely amazing laws put into place that don’t allow us to enjoy life.

OK, that’s pretty dramatic but, we have state-controlled liquor stores.

What this means is that we can’t go to a gas station or grocery stores to pick up alcohol.

Rather, we have to go to a liquor store that sells wine and spirits and a beer distributor that sells – you guessed it – beer.

Now that my little history lesson of stupidity that is PA-law is over I’ll get back to my story.

So, in the liquor store this weekend I stumbled upon Giuliana Rancic’s Xo, G wine; a wine that I’ve wanted to try for some time now!

As a white wine fan, I love to try different brands so I decided there’s no better time than the present so I swiped a package of Pinot Grigio off of the shelf and went on my merry way.

The price tag on this tower of deliciousness was $12.99 (PA RULES!)
Xo, G wine comes in a package of four prefilled, individually sealed and shatterproof glasses.

Giuliana Rancic's Xo, G wine

All four of these cute little pods are the equivalent to a 750mL bottle of Pinot Grigio.

So, how was the wine in these cute little pods? Personally, I thought that this wine was very delicious.

This full-bodied wine was dry yet delicious and offered a tangy yet light taste. I thought that it was a very flavorful wine that was smooth and went down the hatch easily.

Perhaps too easy! I limited myself to two out of the four pods in one sitting – hey, I wasn’t driving anywhere!

Unfortunately at the liquor store, I had to buy the wine at room temperature and I like my white wine cold so I had to be a little innovative.

Sure, you could just put the wine in the fridge and wait a while, but waiting for your wine to cool in the fridge feels as long as a microwave minute and by that I mean it takes way too long.

I could have easily put some ice in my glass but why dilute the wine? It’s not the wine’s fault that the liquor store didn’t sell it cold.

Giuliana Rancic's Xo, G wine

It was almost as if a higher power had intervened this night or I just happened to look in the freezer while reaching for a handful of ice and realized the grapes were in the freezer. Light-bulb moment… Frozen grapes as ice cubes!

I grabbed a small handful of frozen green grapes and plopped them right into my wine glass.

As a result, the frozen grapes chilled my wine to perfection and the last gulp of wine, though a usually upsetting moment, was replaced with wine-soaked grapes. A win in my book.

In the end, I give Xo, G two thumbs up and I’ll definitely be purchasing this wine again in the near future!

Leave a Reply

