Make Sh*t Happen.

Go to school, get good grades, get a (paid) internship, and land an amazing job.

That’s the line of thinking we all have from the minute we are old enough to be in school.

The progression of life that we’ve been put into is engrained in so many people’s heads.

There’s no if, ands or butts. That’s just life.

Or is it?

Sure, there are people that love structure in their lives. They love a schedule and a routine that they can count on. That makes them happy.

But then there are other people who suffocate at the thought of following a set of rules or guidelines.

In this life, you only have one at bat to crush it out of the park. As a 25-year-old, I see so many people taking jobs out of college that they absolutely hate because it’s “a job” and they “need” money.

I have to admit, I lucked out with my job. I actually love it and the work I do but I’m probably one of the very few.

However, I do know people who just punch their time cards for the sake of a paycheck and count down the seconds waiting for the weekend.

I’m not sure if people realize this but the weekend is really only two full days which means that the others are spent in misery at their jobs and misery at home knowing that they have to go back the very next day.

Is that the way you want to live? I hiiiiighly doubt it. But fear, living up to the cookie-cutter image that’s been carved out for us and of course money keep us complacent.

I’m not saying quit your job and travel the world just so you can wrote a viral post on it for the Internet.

What I am saying is that you don’t have to settle. Even though the market might not be the best to find your perfect job- meanwhile what does a perfect job even entail? There’s a plethora of opportunity out there — you just have to put in the work.

Your life isn’t etched in stone. In reality it’s a moving jigsaw puzzle and you’re constantly shifting the pieces around to fit that point in your life.

If you don’t like your job, find a new one. Go out there and search. This might mean a pay cut, a change in where you live or a complete industry change but sometimes you just have to take the plunge.

If you aren’t that much of a daredevil, start slow. Consider doing some side work to see what interests you. Not only is it a resume builder, it’s also a chance for you to tap in to the things that pique your interest and get you excited about life again.

Life is what you make of it and I get it. It’s easier said than done to quit your job and find a better one. But I also get that if you sit around wallowing in self-pity, complaining about your job I can bet actually I can guarantee without an ounce of uncertainty that nothing in your life will change.

So, make sh*t happen.

Leave a Reply

