You Need a Vacation.

Vacation is synonymous with summer time.

There are a few coveted months of the year that are nestled between the end of one school year and the beginning of the next.

It’s these lines of demarcation that elicit to us that it is in fact summertime.

Beach trips, Disney trips, weekend trips whatever kind of trip, for many, travel is most certainly in the plans.

I remember when I was a kid how much I looked forward to summer vacation. There was no homework, bedtimes fluctuated and pool days were always in the forecast.

Well, those days are a thing of the past like Crystal Pepsi… Or are they?

The way life works is kind of crazy. When you begin to “adult” as I like to call the time of your life where you have a job, responsibilities, bills being sent to you and not your parents and when grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s is an event that you look forward to, begins you start craving vacation more than ever before.

Well as an adult, the months and seasons just seem to blend together. The only time you realize a difference is when you’re swapping your spring/summer clothes for your fall/winter wardrobe and vice versa.

But, if you’re lucky enough in that short two month or so window that was formerly known as summertime, you can enjoy a few days off and away from the office.

As a side note, is there anything more satisfying than hitting the enter key on your out of office email auto responder? It’s almost like a “you can email me all you want but I don’t give a damn” type thing.

It’s weirdly exhilarating and I love it.

Anyways, vacations are meant to step away from reality and plop yourself in a beach chair with your alcoholic beverage of choice in hand(s).

But with email on our phones and apps that are meant to save us time and keep us connected we find ourselves doing work when we are on the vacation that we’ve been looking forward to for quite some time. Those vacation days that you deserve and have earned.

We feel a sense of guilt if we don’t touch base, like we’re letting people down as if the entire business is going to crash and burn because you’re not at your desk, behind your computer.

I think it’s so important for your mental health to actually take your vacation and enjoy it. Unplug from work, relax and regroup.

The feeling of just being in the moment and enjoying things that you love so much is gratifying.

Do you love going for a morning run but can’t seem to find the time at home because you have to beat the rush hour traffic? Vacation is the time to enjoy those morning runs.

Do you love actually savoring every sip of your coffee and not chugging it like a college frat party before your 9 a.m. meeting? Vacation is the time to sip away.

Do you love not having to incessantly check your phone waiting for an email?Vacation is the time to relax and unplug.

Do you love drinking alcohol with breakfast? Vacation is the time to tip it back.

These are just a few examples, but the point that I’m trying to make is that vacation is a time for you. It’s a time where you can do the things you love, take a step back and take a deep breath.

I just got back from vacation and I can honestly say that it was amazing. I feel revitalized. Obviously if I had a work responsibility I made sure to touch base but for the vast majority of the trip, I didn’t touch my work phone. I didn’t check my emails. I just enjoyed the present moment. It was a really great feeling.

As the vacation was winding down, I realized that I was ready to get back to work. I had a chance to give my brain a break and I felt rejuvenated and refocused.

Though we see it everywhere (#teamnosleep) rest and relaxation are insanely important when it comes to mental health and overall performance. You should never feel like a failure for taking a break. In reality, you’re actually the smart one. Because after your brief hiatus you are far more focused and ready to attack your goals.

Put your pride away and relax. Even if it’s just for a day, you’ll feel like a brand-new person.

Leave a Reply

